Historic Programs & Teas

entire_cast

Second Sundays: Trails of Hope

A series of historical re-enactments depicting the struggles for freedom on the Underground Railroad.

  • Sunday, February 11
  • Sunday, March 11
  • Sunday, April 8
  • Sunday, May 13
  • Sunday, June 10

Second Sunday performances are at 1:30 p.m. on the second Sunday of each month.

Tickets are $5 per adult and senior citizen; $2 per child age 6 and over.
Reservations are not required.

Victorian Tea at Kelton House

Victorian-inspired teas include a tasteful sampling of traditional tea sandwiches & appetizers and sweets, followed by a short educational program.

Don’t be disappointed . . . make your reservations early.

  • Wednesday, February 14, 2018
  • Wednesday, March 14, 2018
  • Wednesday, April 11, 2018
  • Wednesday, May 9, 2018
  • Wednesday, June 13, 2018
  • Wednesday, July 11, 2018
  • Wednesday, August 8, 2018
  • Wednesday, September 12, 2018
  • Wednesday, October 10, 2018
  • Wednesday, December 5, 2018
  • Sunday, December 9, 2018
  • Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Teas are at 12:30 p.m.
$17 per person; $14 for Friends of the Kelton House.
Reservations are required.

Tea Reservation Policy

All tea reservations will be confirmed by telephone in the week prior to the tea. If your reservation is confirmed, you will be responsible for payment. Credit card information and phone number must accompany reservation. Credit cards will be processed one week prior to the event unless cancelled by that date. No cancellations will be accepted after credit card has been processed.

Call the Kelton House, (614) 464-2022, to get further information on upcoming teas.

Upcoming Programs

Nature’s Gift: Pearls

Sunday, March 4, 2018
2:00 p.m.
$7/person

See pearls from the past and the women who wore them.

See today’s pearls with Eva Stein.

Bring your pearls for restringing or a new clasp.

Call the Kelton House, (614) 464-2022 or visit keltonhouse@cs.com for reservations; attendance limited to 30.

Underground Railroad Programs

Not On My Watch: The Oberlin-Wellington Rescue of 1858, a production of the Underground Railroad Community Advisory Committee

“Not On My Watch: The Oberlin-Wellington Rescue of 1858” is a program created and performed by the members of the Kelton House Underground Railroad Community Advisory Committee that commemorates the dramatic events that occurred in Wellington and Oberlin, Ohio in 1858. The narrative centers on the capture of a runaway by bounty hunters and the action of local anti-slavery students and townspeople who freed the runaway from his jail and the subsequent trial that brought the country to the brink of war.

Carefully selected narratives from periodicals and historical scholars, specifically drawn from the book, The Town that Started the Civil War by Nat Brandt, form the basis of the program.

See a trailer for Not On My Watch: The Oberlin-Wellington Rescue of 1858:

Contact us to book this program.